Forget Atlanta Traffic: My Life Is So Much Better Working Close to Home

Atlanta, traffic, snowmaggedon, snowstorm, ice storm, I-285, I-75, I-85, the connector, Ga. 400

The worst of the worst — when a little snow shut down the city. OK, it’s usually not this bad, right? But still… Sometimes it felt like it.

My daily world is much smaller than it used to be, and I couldn’t be happier for one reason:

Traffic.

For more than six years, I fought the 9-to-5 rush from my intown Atlanta home to my suburban job every morning (30-45 minutes) and every evening (up to 90 minutes). It was the most mind-boggling, frustrating, maddening ritual I’ve ever endured – and everyone in this town knows what I mean. (Heck, so does anyone in any city, I suppose, but trust me: Atlanta’s worse.)

Atlanta, the Varsity, north avenue

Hey, y’all.

Now I work on North Avenue, the same street where I live less than 3 miles away. It’s so close that I’m home in 10 minutes. I can even scoot home for lunch, which I do sometimes, feeling as free as a kid in school.

It’s so close I could ride my bike – and I will someday, just as soon as I get comfortable with the new dangers traffic poses to bicycle commuters.

RELATED:  A photo tour of North Avenue

It’s so close I could even walk, if it’s not too hot out and I don’t mind arriving a little sweaty.

With work so close to home, I now have everything I need nearby – not only my job, but shops, restaurants, a dry cleaner, a gym, bike trails, a Publix and a movie theater. My own Mayberry in the big city.

Atlanta, traffic, map

And I never have to look at this.

Just the daily gift of two hours back into my life is a tremendous blessing. I can’t tell you how good it simply feels to be without the psychological and, yes, physical stress of being stuck on Ga. 400 or I-85 – knowing there’s absolutely nothing you can do about it.

  • I can snooze a little later in the mornings and I can make – and keep – appointments in the evening.
  • I can go to the gym or see a friend for dinner or a movie.
  • I can even – shhhh! – take a little catnap after the workday.
  • I’m saving money on gas and wear-and-tear on my car.
  • My blood pressure is closer to where it should be.
  • And when I see friends complaining about the schlep home from the Perimeter on Facebook or Twitter, I say a little prayer of gratitude — and I am not even kidding.

Traffic in metro Atlanta is hell, right?

But it’s nothing at all in my little world.


RELATED:  A photo tour of North Avenue

RELATED: Ponce City Market photos

RELATED: Remember the Snowpocalypse!

Follow me on Twitter @JayCroft!

4 thoughts on “Forget Atlanta Traffic: My Life Is So Much Better Working Close to Home

  1. jross428

    I live in the burbs and travel to the Perimeter and plan my life around traffic. Traffic makes me want to quit everything and I fantasize about having a commute like yours. Enjoy!

    Reply
  2. Babs

    I work in the city and live in South Fulton. I am in the process of relocating to the city. I can’t wait to be within five miles of work on side streets!

    Reply

Let me know what you think!

