3 Pieces of Advice from a Hollywood Publicist in Georgia

PRSA Georgia, PRSA, Maggiano's, advice, publicist, movie, tv, production, atlanta, georgia,

Denise Godoy

Denise Godoy is an on-set publicist for movies and TV shows. She spoke on a panel last week in Atlanta about film and TV production in Georgia, a booming business with “The Hunger Games” sequels, “The Walking Dead” and lots more. (Read my post from the event, put on by the Public Relations Society of America’s Georgia chapter.)

I saved a little morsel Godoy shared because I thought it deserved its own space — even if you’re nowhere near show business.

“The big three lessons I’ve learned is, first, answer your emails. Even if it’s just to say, ‘I don’t know the answer to that but I will get back to you.’ You really want to be perceived as being an effective and communicative person.

“No. 2, Don’t take things personally. I get yelled at every day and trust me, it has nothing to do with me … The director’s in a bad mood, I’m in the way of the wardrobe department…

“The third is to not be emotional. This is your job, that’s it. There’s no emotions involved,” she said, wrapping it up with, yep, a movie quote. “There’s no crying in baseball.”

Good advice? What do you think?


RELATED: Catching up on the classics over summer

RELATED: ‘The Lego Movie’ Takes Brand Marketing to New Heights

RELATED: Storytelling lessons from Disney

Let me know what you think!

