Should You Start Blogging? 7 Questions to Help You Decide

Are you thinking of starting a blog but unsure if you’re writer enough for the job?

I have a friend who’s a brilliant professional, with multiple advanced degrees and an impressive job that make him an expert in his field. He wants to start a blog but has reservations, since he’s not a writer. Here’s a short, multiple-choice quiz to help folks like him get started.

1. What are you writing about?
a)     Your profession
b)    Customers
c)     A hobby
d)    Anything you feel like at any time, so that no one will ever know what to expect from you

2.  Why are you blogging?
a)     To market yourself
b)    To express yourself
c)     To connect with other people who like what you like
d)    To become a rich and famous writer

3. Who’s your audience?
a)     Family & friends
b)    Colleagues
c)     Potential clients
d)    Your international fan club

4. What’s holding you back?
a)     Fear that you’ll be bad
b)    The ghost of your 10th grade composition teacher
c)     Nothing – you’ve written the first sentence 15, 16 times… without getting to the second sentence.
d)    You forgot your answers to the first three questions

5.  Write like you’re…
a)     Scared to death
b)    Going to be a while
c)     Smarty McSmartypants
d)    Talking to a friend or an interested peer who doesn’t have all day

6.     What do you have that Shakespeare, Hemingway and even Gwyneth Paltrow couldn’t ever have?
a)     Your experiences
b)    Your opinions
c)     Your voice
d)    Your original AOL email address

7.     Blogging is a great way for new writers to start because…?
a)     The only pressure is from yourself
b)    Posts can be short, unconventional, interactive
c)     Blogging encourages you to write often
d)    You can communicate easily with other bloggers, readers and people on social media

The short answer to all your questions: If you want to write, just do it.

Was this helpful? Reply at top with feedback or your own tips.

RELATED: A fun way to avoid jargon

 

6 thoughts on “Should You Start Blogging? 7 Questions to Help You Decide

  1. John

    I just wrote my first blog post (not a real blog, just my first first attempt at writing). I had hesitated to write fearing that it would be too dry or uninteresting or that it would sound like the technical writing that I do at work. I expected to struggle with every word and be frustrated. But once I finally sat down to do it, I just wrote about something that happened that day that I cared about and it connected to other things that were important to me that I had wanted to tell people about and it was pretty easy and fun. I didn’t worry about sounding good and just wrote conversationally. That’s one thing about blogging – it’s not great literature and the expectations are low. All I had to get is get a thought out and hope someone – even one person – would be interested in what I had to say. Then I sent it to a friend. Now I’m looking forward to doing it again.

    Reply
  2. torstenmueller240

    Hi Jay,

    you came up with a nice multiple choice test to answer the question “Shall I start blogging?”. And the only answer can be to just do it.

    I know that many people who are thinking of starting a blog hesitate because they are unsure whether their visitors will like what and how they write or not. And I have to confess that it was the same for me.

    But after just a couple of posts and a little bit of practice, you’ll find out that all these worries were for nothing.

    The advice I can give everybody who is not sure yet, is to overcome one’s weaker self and get it started.

    Have a great day,
    Torsten

    Reply

Let me know what you think!

