Atlanta Off-Limits: Trying to Get Home in the Snow and Traffic Nightmare

I am spending tonight in a Rodeway Inn near Calhoun, Ga., and thankful for it.

I left Nashville after lunch.  It’s usually a four-hour drive home to Atlanta, and I was expecting some extra traffic because of the weather. But really — who could have predicted that a little snow would shut down our city? I never made it closer to home than the Acworth exit, where traffic came to a stop and I finally decided to get a room for the night rather than keep fighting the slow-moving traffic, snowy roads and patches of ice on I-75. But since all the hotels near Acworth were booked, a kindly clerk and a friend on the phone helped me find the closest available room — 40 miles back north toward Chattanooga. For dinner, I was warned that the Hardee’s and maybe the Wendy’s near this hotel were closed because of the weather, so I hit a McDonald’s drive-thru. I finally checked in here about 10 p.m.

Thankful, yes, to be off the road and in a warm room.

That’s just my little story of a ridiculously messy day. Add it to the millions of others. What a mess.

3 thoughts on “Atlanta Off-Limits: Trying to Get Home in the Snow and Traffic Nightmare

  1. Camfrog Pro

    Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up.

    The text in your content seem to be running off the screen
    in Firefox. I’m not sure if this is a formatting
    issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.

    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the issue fixed soon.

    Many thanks

    Reply

Let me know what you think!

